Cam Park 1910

The Wellington Valley named by the explorer John Oxley on August 19, 1817 after the 'Iron Duke' of Wellington who defeated Napoleon at the Battle of Waterloo two years earlier.

The valley was first signted by Oxley and his crew the previous day with Oxley noting his intention to further explore the "fine and spacious valley" in his journal. Upon getting entering the valley, he wrote:

"Imagination cannot fancy anything more beautifully picturesque than the scene which burst upon us. The breadth of the valley to the base of the opposite gently rising hills was between three and four miles, studded with fine trees, upon a soil which for richness nowhere can be excelled ... In the centre of this charming valley ran a strong and beautiful stream, its bright transparent waters dashing over a gravelly bottom, intermingled with large stone, forming at short intervals considerable pools, in which the rays of the sun were reflected with a brilliancy equal to that of the most polished mirror."

Throughout the coming years, Wellington grew and grew and went on to become gazetted in 1823, thus making it the second oldest town west of the Blue Mountains.

For information on how Wellington grew, view our timeline.